Must Have Twin Stuff · Twins

Things Without Which I Cannot Live, Part 2: “Used” Edition

Some of you may remember a post I did back when the babes were itty bitty (all of 4 months ago) about the stuff I never thought could be oh-so-critical to my daily existence. Welcome to the Used Edition! Some things we received as hand-me-downs from friends and family, and a few “new” things we bought second-hand on Craigslist.

1. Jumparoo

Seriously, money well spent. This was a Craigslist find, it retails for $100 new, we got it for less than half of that. And it is a great babysitter. Both babies take turns happily bouncing away, smacking toys, spinning wheels, up and down and up and down. Awesome-o. The second one is a loaner from my girlfriend, our living room is officially jumparoo city.

DSC_0009 20130927-130807.jpg

2. Bumbo Seat, and a 2nd unidentified brand baby chair that is just like a Bumbo

The Bumbo is $45 new. And babies use it for like, 6 weeks. My babies at least are already trying to launch themselves out it, so I’m gonna have to come up with a couple of official highchairs soon. Anyways, one we got as a hand-me-down from my girlfriend Nollaig and one I picked up from a neighbor for $15. Good deal!

DSC_0026 DSC_0025

3. Playmat X’s 2

Yes this is still on the list from the first time around. It’s a hand-me-down from L and T’s cousins Jack and Ainslie, and been in constant use since they were about 6-8 weeks old, and the 2nd one is from Nollaig. It has a pretty cool piano at one end that is fun to smack and kick and make noise on. It’s getting to the point where it’s not as fun as the jumperoo though, so we’ll see how much longer they like the mats. The photo is with Uncle Ben, but you can see the mat with the keyboard in the corner of the photo.

IMG_20130828_165635

4. Breastpump

Yup. My days literally have revolved around this machine since we returned from the hospital. It is running every 3-4 hours between 5:30am and 11pm every. single. day. Sigh. I have made it this far exclusively feeding L and T breastmilk (with the exception of the first few weeks where we filled in with formula during the night until my supply built up enough), and as of Sept. 20, I’ve made it 6 whole months. It’s been my biggest accomplishment and sometimes biggest source of stress. The pump was my sister-in-laws (Jack and Ainslie’s mom, Molly), and I am very thankful for it. They are expensive and while Lucie and I could do just fine without it, I never had the time to teach Teddy to nurse well so his chubby breastmilk cheeks are all thanks to the [friggin’] pump. Yay Pumping! My goal is 1 year and then I’m getting the thing out of my sight forever.

I’m not posting a photo of the breastpump. That’s what I’ve got so far!

Look for a twin stuff update down the road, and click here for a look at the 1st edition.

Leave a Reply

