Monthly Markers · Toddler Twins · Twins · Twins Schedule

16 Months and Our New Schedule

We have been busy and I have been a slacker-blogger.  Apologies!  I’m going to start from today and go backwards in time for the next few posts.

So, the Goose and the Bear are 16 months on Sunday, and we went into the pediatrician this morning to check on their iron levels (everything normal), and as a result I have updated stats.  In the last month Lucie grew about a half-inch and a half-pound.  Teddy grew a full half-inch and lost about 3 oz.  The kid keeps growing taller but can’t gain any weight!  Will calls him “Skinny Pete.”  The nurse suggested giving him a little coconut milk everyday to plump him up a little, so I think I’ll do that.  A few extra calories a day will be good for him.  So that’s today.

Yesterday both monkeys decided they do NOT want to be 2-nap babies any longer.  They bounced and played and cried and did everything but sleep during their morning nap, resulting in whiny, cranky toddlers, and a rough day for mama.  Frankly, they’ve been flirting with dropping the morning nap for weeks now and I’ve pushed through because 2 naps a day is so lovely for me.  But I can impose this on them no longer!  It comes at a good time, when there is nice weather and we can find loads of activities to fill our time.  I am going to follow the example of my friends and my sister and my favorite sleep-training author Dr. Weissbluth (Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Baby) and the twins will take one nap a day at 12:30.  That is what we did today and it is going swimmingly so far.  I’m hoping for a longer nap (instead of 2 x 2hr naps, 1 x 3hr nap), and perhaps for them to sleep a little longer at night.  Now, we have always woken the twins up at 7am (usually they are up by then anyways), but I think we’ll try letting them sleep later if they so please. This is our daily schedule at 16 months:

  • 7 am (or later?!) Wake up
  • Breakfast
  • Errands, activities, playing, outing, meeting friends, etc
  • 11:30 am Lunch
  • 12:30pm Nap (I’m hoping this lasts until 3:30, but this is as yet undetermined)
  • Snack and play, go for a walk, etc
  • 5:30pm Dinner
  • 7pm Bath and bed by 7:30pm

Just for kicks, check out these crazy-cute videos from a few days ago 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “16 Months and Our New Schedule

  1. Your twins like each other SO much more than mine!!! Maybe L&T can teach K&A some nice things during our visit next week. Can’t wait to see you all, and thanks for an update!!

    1. OH, and I loooove when Kaleb eats like a puppy! It’s hilarious to see Lucie and Teddy do it too! Kaleb only does it with his snacks. His favorite is face down in a bowl of grapes!

Leave a Reply

