Cloth Diapers · Milestones · Toddler Twins · Twins

Pee-Pee in the Potty

I’m totally here to brag.  Yeah that’s right, Teddy and Lucie June BOTH went “pee” in the potty this evening.  I know, WHAT?!!!  Yup!  The answer to your first question, no we are not actively potty-training.  We do however, have 2 potty chairs in the bathroom.  I picked them up one at a time second-hand in anticipation of the potty-training days ahead, and they’ve been fun toddler toys for most of the summer.

As most of you know, we like to do evening naked time for a few minutes before they get in the bath.  This evening when I took off their diapers, they were dry from the last change about 2 hours before, which is a brand new development, they are always at least a little damp.  Not tonight!  It was a half an hour and without any accidents on the floor so I said to both tots, do you have to go pee-pee?  They ran to the bathroom because they know very well by now where Mama and Dada do this.  They sit on the potty for a second and gets up.  I let them both walk away, and ask a few minutes later if Lucie has to go.  Again, she runs to the bathroom, sits down, and pees on the flippin potty.  Yeah, I know.  Will walks in the door a moment later, and excitement ensues.  I ask Teddy after a few minutes, do you have to go?  A third time to the bathroom, he sits and pees on the potty.  My children are geniuses.  In my excitement I exclaimed loudly “he’s going! YaaaaaY”  and scared the bejeezus out of him…he promptly stopped going and started crying.  Whoops!

I’m unsure of how to proceed.  Maybe I’ll start encouraging this behavior when we’re around the house?  I read so much about how you shouldn’t confuse the kid by doing both potty and diapers, but I don’t know if they’re ready to do no diapers all the time.  On the other hand, maybe this is my chance?  Like, if I don’t jump on this as a teaching opportunity now, they won’t be interested in it again for another 6 months.  They’re definitely not ready at night.  I don’t know!  I think I’ll credit their cloth diapers for the early awareness…high five Teddy and Lucie!

Anyways, we went to the zoo today to check out the new train.  We met our friends Kristin and Ellie and had a lovely afternoon.  It was a perfectly cool/warm fall day.  We rode the train which completely underwhelmed the girls, and which had Teddy shrieking “chooooo chooooo chooooo!”  Boys, sheesh 🙂

wpid-img_3640.jpg wpid-img_3631.jpg    wpid-img_3635.jpg

wpid-img_20141005_104625.jpgwpid-img_20141005_104814.jpgwpid-img_20141005_104859.jpg

They had so much fun yesterday crunching in the fallen leaves in the square a few doors down from our house.  I hope this is an indication of how much they’ll like playing in SNOW!  (I love snow)

Leave a Reply

