Feeding Kids · Fox in Feathers Etsy · Milestones · Monthly Markers · Toddler Twins · Twins

Happy 2 and a Half Birthday! 

Another Half Birthday is upon us! I just went back and re-read the 2 year post I wrote and so much has changed in the last 6 months it’s crazy.

All About Teddy



Size: 24.6 lbs (3rd percentile) and 35 inches (31st percentile). He is finally too tall for 18mth size pants, but must wear a belt to hold up anything without an adjustable or elastic waistband.  He can wear a great variety of sizes, but we’ll say 24mth/2T for pants and tops. Shoes are crazy sizes, anywhere between a 6 and 8 depending on brand.

Nicknames: Tedder, Teddy Bear, Bear (Lucie always callas him Teddy Bear)

Personality: Sweet as sugar this one. He continues to be cheerful and friendly, and cries those giant plopping tears when he gets upset. Except, now he stops himself mid-cry declaring with a smile “me HAPPY!”  I wish I could capture the moment because it’s just so Teddy to be happy even though he looks so sad.  Like, no no, really I’m fine with the biggest tears you ever saw still rolling down his cheeks.  Too much.  He loves to be carried around, and is very imaginative with his play.  Lately he has been demanding things in a very non-Teddy way. Like today he woke up from his nap and demanded to go to Grandma Patti’s house “Go to Patti’s house, now” except now is said an octave lower than the rest of the sentence and emphasized with a growl. I’m not sure what to think of it other than be purely amused.

Foods: Fruit is his favorite, especially watermelon, whole apples and mango. He generally likes everything, but can be very stubborn when he doesn’t want to eat any more. He stockpiles chewed food in his cheeks. It’s gross. And frustrating. He says “My don’t like it” when he totally does.

Play: He loves cars, trains, dinosaurs and puzzles.  He can do a whole 24 piece puzzle on his own, as he is ever observant and pays very close attention to details.  He watches and listens to and studies everything around him. Recently he has been into racecars in particular and drives everything around as such…even pieces of watermelon. Oh and he loves building towers and tunnels, and crawling under and through tunnels. Like a spelunker.

Development and Talents: I mentioned his puzzles… He has recently mastered jumping with two feet off the floor, though not yet off of a platform.  He does not like to count 1-10 but does 11-20 perfectly. He always seems to find the things that have been lost for unknown amounts of time, probably because he’s the one who hid it in the first place.  He takes his time with answers as he considers the question very carefully. He talks, a lot. His speech is good, just a little jumbled and his pronunciations can be hard to understand if you don’t spend a lot of time around him. He has the iPad all figured out.  More than once I have heard voices in the living room while I’m cleaning up from breakfast and find him talking to my mom or sister on FaceTime or starting a movie for him and his sister. 

All About Lucie



Size: 30.6 lbs (72nd percentile) and 36.5 inches (76th percentile). A mix of 2T and 3T, same for shoes, between 6-8. 

Nicknames: Lucie Goose, Cici, Cici June, Lu (Teddy calls her Cici June)

Personality: Lucie swings between adorable and dramatic. She has a lot of flash this one. She still demands cold water, and ice/bandaids for every issue. She does NOT like strange kids in her personal space. If she decides to protest something like leaving the park, she will not eventually follow her parent. She will stubbornly stand her ground and cry until you come back into sight at which point she will sob into your shoulder “my feel nervous. my need ice.” Flip side Lucie is a delight! She sings, repeats everything, asks a zillion questions (“why?” “are you frustrated mama?”), twirls like Cindagedda (Cinderella), declares “my love ______”, and hold/hug/love on babies. She likes to wear her pink sunglasses everywhere, everyday.

Foods: Easy. Pizza and ice cream. I joke that she has the Cross pizza gene which means, “I’m not full until the pizza is gone.” Except it’s not a joke. She will literally eat pizza until you stop giving her pizza. Also stuffed shells, and I don’t blame her on that one I love them too. She generally likes everything but not with the same passion as the aforementioned delights.

Play: She’s been into spinning, skipping and dancing of late. She and Teddy like to “go shopping” (play grocery store) together with the play food and grocery cart and shopping bags. They also like to “help” me cook or wash dishes in the kitchen. I try to find little jobs for them to do, but it’s hard to delegate! I’m used to running the kitchen as a solo act, it’s hard to throw in team members who don’t seem to be able to pull their weight, you know?

Development and Talents: Her speech is terrific, it’s not uncommon for her to put together fluid compound sentences like, “Hi baby Clare! She’s so little! Chubby knees! My hold her?” And even a stranger can understand everything she says. It’s so cool. She runs, jumps, and talks incessantly. 

Videos: Peppa Pig is their favorite cartoon, Daniel Tiger is often requested. Favorites movies are Cars, Tangled (Punzel), and The Fantastic Mr. Fox (Fox movie, they love doing Foxy’s whistle)

Thanks for sticking with me, Happy half birthday munchkins. We have lots of awesome visitors in the next few weeks, look out for lots of photos. And Happy Autumn!



Feeding Kids · Toddler Twins · Twins · Twins Schedule

Our Daily Schedule 2 Years In

I was recently thinking that I hadn’t written out our daily schedule for a long time now, maybe even since this time last year when the kids dropped their second nap.  Yes, we still follow a schedule, it keeps all us Crosses running on optimum energy and attitude.  So, here’s our 2 yr toddler schedule. 

7-8am wake up! Teddy is always always up first.  Lucie (like her mum) could sleep all morning.  If she’s not up by 8, which is a regular occurrence, I go in with the rise and shine alarm. 

morning snuggles
  

 8-9am breakfast time; we eat eggs almost every morning, but also love oatmeal with a big bowl of fruit, or pancakes on occasion.

9-10am is generally video time while I clean up from breakfast and get our stuff together for an outing.

10am-1pm we leave for a daily outing. Mondays we do our grocery shopping for the week. Tues-Fri we make plans with friends or head out on our own. The major pro of city-dwelling is that there is SO much to do. The major con is that we have a smaller living space and we MUST go out to avoid going bananas at home.  Regular destinations include the Lincoln Park Zoo, Peggy Notebart Nature Museum, Library, Park/playground (there are several great parks within walking distance and many more only a short drive or L ride away), Nature Preserve, and a few friends homes. I am really lucky to have a few “stay-at-home-mom” friends who live pretty close to us and a few others who live out in the suburbs and everyone has a kid within 9mths of Lucie and Teddy’s same age so there’s lots of fun toddler play time.  Their most favorite playmate is definitely Ellie, Teddy tries every move he knows on her, hugs, kisses.   

lunch at the nature museum, ellie and her mom ran to the loo and little sister clare stayed with us
   
pool play at rosie’s house (she’s 2 weeks older than L and T)

 12-1pm we squeeze in lunch somewhere in this hour or the children turn into hangry wolves. Sometimes it’s leftovers from dinner the night before, but often lunch is picnicked out somewhere so we have peanut butter sandwiches, turkey and cheese roll ups, fruit, crackers, maybe a granola bar.

1/1:30pm-4pm naptime, oh sweet naptime. The down time for naps is more flexible than it used to be, with our summer activities we are staying outside longer in the mornings and are sometimes racing home to drink a cup of milk and get into bed. They have to be in bed by 2 or all is lost. I depend on their daily nap to recharge my own batteries, drink a cup of tea, chat on the phone, do a few chores, maybe blog, and they depend on it too. Otherwise I’m dealing with wailing leg-less puddles by 5. Gross.

4-6pm is free time. We stick around the house, maybe play in the backyard a bit, or read books, have a little snack.  I usually put on a video around 5:30 so I can get dinner together.

6pm kids eat dinner…they eat whatever Will and I have.  With warmer weather we’ve been eating big salads with lots of stuff in them, cauliflower stir fries (cauliflower instead of rice), grilled fish and veggies, lettuce wraps. Will gets home around 7 and we eat together after the kids are in bed.

 7:30pm we start getting ready for bed, depending on their level of grubbiness they’ll have a bath, story time, and right into bed around 8.
I’m excited to see what the next year has in store for our schedule!

I am also realized I title our schedule markers like a camp counselor “free time”? Camp prepared me for so many things in life. I hope everyone had a great Fourth of July weekend, we sure did! 2 BBQs, the zoo. The park, lunches out to eat, and a visit from cousin Matthew. I was sad to see Monday.

   

at the lincoln park zoo on the 4th